All About India


Posted on: November 3, 2009

1947-48 J&K Operations

Major Somnath Sharma, 4 Kumaon, posthumous

2nd Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane, Corps of Engineers

CHM Piru Singh, 6 Rajputana Rifles, posthumous

Naik Jadunath Singh, 1 Rajput, posthumous

Lance Naik Karam Singh, 1 Sikh


1962 Indo-China War

Major Shaitan Singh, 13 Kumaon, posthumous

Major Dhan Singh Thapa, 1/8 Gorkha Rifles

Subedar Joginder Singh, 1 Sikh, posthumous


1965 Indo-Pak War

Lt. Col. A.B. Tarapore, 17 Poona Horse, posthumous

CQMH Abdul Hamid, 4 Grenadiers, posthumous


1971 Indo-Pak War

Major Hoshiar Singh, 3 Grenadiers – 1971 War

2nd Lt. Arun Khetarpal, 17 Poona Horse, posthumous

Fg. Off. N.J.S. Sekhon, No.18 Squadron, posthumous

Lance Naik Albert Ekka, 14 Guards, posthumous


1999 Kargil Operations

Captain Vikram Batra, 13 JAK Rifles, posthumous

Lieutenant Manoj K. Pandey, 1/11 GR, posthumous

Grenadier Yogender Singh Yadav, 18 Grenadiers

Rifleman Sanjay Kumar, 13 JAK Rifles


UN Operations

Captain G.S. Salaria, 3/1 GR, posthumous – UN Operations


Saichen Operations

Naib Subedar Bana Singh, 8 JAK LI – Siachen Operations


IPFK Operations

Major R. Parameswaran, 8 Mahar, posthumous – IPKF Operations


  • Of the 21 awardees, 20 are from the Indian Army and one from the Indian Air Force.
  • Som Nath Sharma, the first recipient of the award, was the award designer Mrs. Savitri Khanolkar‘s son-in-law.
  • Fourteen of the 21 awards were posthumous.
  • Grenadiers Regiment have received the most number of Param Vir Chakras, with 3 awards, one each for the Indo-Pakistan 1965 war, 1971 Indo-Pakistan war and the Kargil War. The Gorkha Rifles have also received three awards, with the 1st Gorkha Rifles (The Malaun Regiment), 8th Gorkha Rifles and 11th Gorkha Rifles each receiving one.
  • The Sikh Regiment, Kumaon Regiment, 17th Poona Horse and Jammu and Kashmir Rifles have received two awards.
  • The highest rank to be awarded a Param Vir Chakra is that of a Lieutenant Colonel. Lt. Col. Ardeshir Tarapore.
  • The award to Major Dhan Singh Thapa, for the battle of Sirijap in the 1962 War was initially announced as a posthumous award. It was not known that Major Thapa was taken POW at that time.
  • By an administrative mistake, the Param Vir Chakra to Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav was also announced posthumously. At that time Gren Yadav was recuperating in a hospital from his wounds. This was because there was another soldier with exactly the same name in his unit who died in the same operation.
  • Between 1983–85, The Shipping Corporation of India Ltd., took delivery of 15 ships (oil tankers) from Hyundai Shipyard and they were named after the then PVC awardees. The ships were named as “Company Havildar Major Piru Singh PVC”. In fact in foreign ports the word PVC had to be explained to the pilots because it was construed by them to mean synthetic polyvinyl chloride.
  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


    Connecting to %s

    %d bloggers like this: