All About India

Rank Structure of Indian Army

Posted on: November 6, 2009

Commissioned Officers

  • Field Marshal
  • General (the rank held by Chief of Army Staff)
  • Lieutenant-General
  • Major-General
  • Brigadier
  • Colonel
  • Lieutenant-Colonel
  • Major
  • Captain
  • Lieutenant

Junior Commissioned Officers (JCOs)

  • Subedar Major/Honorary Captain
  • Subedar/Honorary Lieutenant
  • Subedar Major
  • Subedar
  • Naib Subedar

Soldiers of the Indian Army’s Assam Regiment stand guard near the India Gate war memorial in Delhi.

Non Commissioned Officers (NCOs)

  • Regimental Havildar Major
  • Regimental Quarter Master Havildar
  • Company Havildar Major
  • Company Quarter Master Havildar
  • Havildar
  • Naik
  • Lance Naik
  • Sepoy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: