All About India

List of Chief Ministers by Party

Posted on: November 10, 2009

Party Number of States/Territories won States/Territories Current coalition (2009)
Indian National Congress 12 Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Delhi†, Goa, Haryana, Maharastra, Meghalaya,Manipur, Mizoram, Pondicherry†, Rajasthan United Progressive Alliance
Bharatiya Janata Party 6 Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand National Democratic Alliance
Communist Party of India (Marxist) 3 Kerala, Tripura, West Bengal Third Front
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 1 Tamil Nadu United Progressive Alliance
Janata Dal (United) 1 Bihar National Democratic Alliance
Nagaland People’s Front 1 Nagaland National Democratic Alliance
Shiromani Akali Dal 1 Punjab National Democratic Alliance
Bahujan Samaj Party 1 Uttar Pradesh Third Front
Biju Janata Dal 1 Orissa Third Front
Jammu & Kashmir National Conference 1 Jammu & Kashmir United Progressive Alliance
Sikkim Democratic Front 1 Sikkim None

Currently, United Progressive Alliance is in power in 12 states (+2 territories), National Democratic Alliance is in power in 9 states, and the Third Front is in power in 5 states.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: