All About India

Telephone in India

Posted on: November 10, 2009

  • 1902 – First wireless telegraph station established between Saugor Islands and Sandheads.
  • 1907 – First Central Battery of telephones introduced in Kanpur.
  • 1913-1914 – First Automatic Exchange installed in Shimla.
  • July 23, 1927 – Radio-telegraph system between the UK and India, with beam stations at Khadki and Daund, inaugurated by Lord Irwin by exchanging greetings with the King of England.
  • 1933 – Radiotelephone system inaugurated between the UK and India.
  • 1953 – 12 channel carrier system introduced.
  • 1960 – First subscriber trunk dialing route commissioned between Kanpur and Lucknow.
  • 1975 – First PCM system commissioned between Mumbai City and Andheri telephone exchanges.
  • 1976 – First digital microwave junction introduced.
  • 1979 – First optical fibre system for local junction commissioned at Pune.
  • 1980 – First satellite earth station for domestic communications established at Secunderabad, A.P..
  • 1983 – First analog Stored Program Control exchange for trunk lines commissioned at Mumbai.
  • 1984 – C-DOT established for indigenous development and production of digital exchanges.
  • 1985 – First mobile telephone service started on non-commercial basis in Delhi.
  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


    Connecting to %s

    %d bloggers like this: