All About India

List of High Courts of India

Posted on: November 12, 2009


Court name Established Act established Jurisdiction Seat Benches Jud.
Allahabad High Court[1] 1866-06-11 High Courts Act, 1861 Uttar Pradesh Allahabad Lucknow 95
Andhra Pradesh High Court 1954-07-05 Andhra State Act, 1953 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad


Bombay High Court 1862-08-14 High Courts Act, 1861 Maharashtra, Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu Mumbai Nagpur, Panaji, Aurangabad 60
Calcutta High Court 1862-07-02 High Courts Act, 1861 West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Calcutta Port Blair (circuit bench) 63
Chhattisgarh High Court 2000-01-11 Madhya Pradesh Re-organisation Act, 2000 Chhattisgarh Bilaspur


Delhi High Court[2] 1966-10-31 Delhi High Court Act, 1966 National Capital Territory of Delhi New Delhi


Guwahati High Court[3] 1948-03-01 Government of India Act, 1935 Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura, Mizoram Guwahati Kohima, Aizwal & Imphal. Circuit Bench at Agartala & Shillong 27
Gujarat High Court 1960-05-01 Bombay Re-organsisation Act, 1960 Gujarat Ahmedabad


Himachal Pradesh High Court 1971 State of H.P. Act, 1970 Himachal Pradesh Shimla


Jammu and Kashmir High Court 1943-08-28 Letters Patent issued by the Maharaja of Kashmir Jammu & Kashmir Srinagar & Jammu[4]


Jharkhand High Court 2000 Bihar Re-organisation Act, 2000 Jharkhand Ranchi


Karnataka High Court[5] 1884 Mysore High Court Act, 1884 Karnataka Bangalore Circuit Benches at Hubli-Dharwad & Gulbarga   40
Kerala High Court[6] 1956 States Reorganisation Act, 1956 Kerala, Lakshadweep Kochi


Madhya Pradesh High Court[7] 1936-01-02 Government of India Act, 1935 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur Gwalior, Indore 42
Madras High Court 1862-08-15 High Courts Act, 1861 Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry Chennai Madurai 47
Orissa High Court 1948-04-03 Orissa High Court Order, 1948 Orissa Cuttack


Patna High Court 1916-09-02 Government of India Act, 1915 Bihar Patna


Punjab and Haryana High Court[8] 1947-11-08 High Court (Punjab) Order, 1947 Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh Chandigarh


Rajasthan High Court 1949-06-21 Rajasthan High Court Ordinance, 1949 Rajasthan Jodhpur Jaipur 40
Sikkim High Court 1975 38th Amendment Sikkim Gangtok


Uttarakhand High Court 2000 U.P. Re-organisation Act, 2000 Uttarakhand Nainital



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: