All About India

List of Hindi language television channels

Posted on: November 12, 2009

General entertainment

Name Notes
9X owned by Reliance Industries Limited & INX Media Pvt. Ltd.
Colors owned by Viacom 18
DD National formerly known as DD1
DD India international feat of DD1 & also airs in India
NDTV Imagine Dr. Prannoy Roy and other seasoned professionals from the media and entertainment fraternity who are part of the NDTV Imagine team. Karan Johar, one of the most successful film directors in the country, is a creative consultant and brand ambassador of this initiative.
SAB TV SAB is a part of the network of Television channels owned by Mutli Screen Media in India the other channels being Sony, Set Max and Sony PIX. SAB has a strong consumer perception as a comedy channel.
Sahara One formerly known as Sahara TV & Sahara Manoranjan
Sony Entertainment Television also known as Sony TV for short
STAR One Initiated as the youth channel from the house of Star India
STAR Plus one of India’s most watched television channel
STAR Utsav shows reruns of popular programmes from STAR Plus and STAR One
Zee Smile airs comedy and sitcoms
Zee TV  


Name Notes
Bindass owned by UTV Software Communications
Firangi also known as Sahara Firangi
Real a subsidiary of Turner Broadcasting System


Name Notes
Bindass Movies  
Filmy also known as Sahara Filmy
Manoranjan TV free to air 24 hours Hindi movie channel
SET Max  
UTV Movies  
STAR Gold  
Zee Action  
Zee Cinema  
Zee Classic  
Zee Premiere shows new Hindi movies


Name Notes
9XM owned by INX Media
B4U Music  
Channel V  
ETC also shows news and movies
Lemon owned by K Sera Sera Limited
MTV India  
Music India  
Yo Music free to air music channel
Zing formerly known as Zee Muzic


General news

Name Notes
Aaj Tak  
DD News  
Khoj India shows 24 hours of discovering India
India TV  
Live India  
NDTV India  
News 24  
Press TV  
Sahara Samay  
STAR News  
Zee News  

Entertainment news

Name Notes
NDTV Imagine Showbiz  
ZOOm shows 24 hours Bollywood news and gossips

Business news

Name Notes
BIZZ News  
CNBC Awaaz  
NDTV Profit  
Zee Business owned by Zee Entertainment Enterprises

Political news

Name Notes
DD Rajya Sabha shows political issues of Indian states
Lok Sabha TV formerly known as DD Lok Sabha

Other news

Name Notes
Azad News  
India News  
Jain TV  
P7 News  
Tez part of TV Today Network, sister channel of Aaj Tak
VOI National owned by Triveni Media Limited, also known as Voice of India

 Health & shopping

Name Notes
Care World  
Home Shop 18  
Shakti TV  


Name Notes
DD Sports  
NEO Cricket  
NEO Sports Plus  
STAR Cricket  
STAR Sports  
TEN Sports  
Zee Sports  


Name Notes
Aastha TV  
MH1 Shraddha  
Om Television  
Sanskar TV  
Zee Jagran  
Peace TV  

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: